Hutt City Youth Awards 2019

Published on

WelTec and Whitireia are proud to be supporters of the 2019 Hutt City Youth Awards. Held at WelTec campus, the formal awards ceremony celebrates the great things youth are achieving in Hutt City. 

Hutt City Youth Awards 2019 winners

Hutt City Youth Awards 2019 winners, with Nicola Willis (National MP), Mayor Campbell Barry, Chris Bishop (Hutt South MP), and Ginny Andersen (Labour MP)

This year Hutt South MP Chris Bishop, MC for the evening and driving force behind the awards, alongside the organising committee, welcomed around 200 guests to the formal awards ceremony on 17 October, including the 33 nominees, their whānau and friends.

We were thrilled to see locals out in support of the event including new Hutt City Mayor Campbell Barry, newly appointed Deputy Mayor Tui Lewis, and newly elected Councillors Josh Briggs, Keri Brown and Brady Dyer. Nicola Willis, National MP and Ginny Andersen, Labour MP for Hutt South also attended.

1017 YouthAwards 0063

Chris Gosling and Chris Bishop with Services to Community finalists

WelTec and Whitireia are sponsors of the Services to Community Award, recognising young people doing great things for their community. This year the award was won by Charlotte Lawrence for her exceptional volunteer work with a number of organisations including, Heretaunga Rest Home, Blind Foundation, Women’s Refuge, Wellington City Mission, Tawai Community Gardens, TedX Youth Conferences, and as a member of the Hutt City Youth Council. Well done Charlotte, and the other nominees, for your fantastic support of our community.

WelTec student Ebony West-Kepa received an award for Overcoming Adversity, recognising her perseverance through tough times and her determination to set an example for her daughter and peers. Ebony is completing NCEA Level 3 while studying Hospitality with WelTec, and plans to start the Bachelor in Social Work at Whitireia next year.

Thank you to volunteers from our student leadership (LEAP) programme, and our hospitality team, for creating a very special evening. Hospitality tutor Toby Sanderson led a fantastic team of hospitality students, presenting a delicious two course meal for guests. Andrea Truman, Team Leader Leaner Support Services and our LEAPers superbly coordinated the event management.

Read more about the awards at and


1017 YouthAwards 0035

 Te Ara Whanui Kura Kaupapa Māori perform the Mihi Whakatau to open the ceremony


1017 YouthAwards 0093

Our Hospitality team celebrate their efforts for the night with Mayor Campbell Barry

72924394 3064857537072059 3765958008102715392 n

Thank you to our LEAP team for your event support


Have a question
or feedback?

Call us on 0800 935 832
or send us a message